gnpd8083-150pxThis week soundtrack label GNP Crescendo will release an expanded edition of Ron Jones’ iconic score to “The Best of Both Worlds”, arguably Star Trek: The Next Generation‘s finest two-parter. The soundtrack was initially released over twenty years ago in 1991 as the second official TNG soundtrack album but was missing several cues rendering it incomplete.

In an attempt to cover Ron Jones’ entire Star Trek musical library, Film Score Monthly released the Ron Jones Collection in 2010 (still available) but due to contractual reasons only included five minutes of unreleased music: short cues left off the GNP/Crescendo CD to facilitate a better album experience, but included to flesh out the scores’ subtler moments.

Fans finally have the chance to complete their collection of Ron’s music with this expanded edition of “The Best of Both Worlds”. According to GNP Crescendo’s website, the expanded edition “features the complete scores, adding the shorter, transitional moments that contain at least one piece of important thematic material missing from the original album.”

We’ve got an early look at the track listing for the album. Those tracks listed in bold were not included on the original release.

1. Star Trek: The Next Generation Main Title
2. New Providence
3. Not Ready / Job grabber / Early Worm / No Doubt
4. Preparations / What Do You Want? / Fatigue / Hansen’s Message
5. Borg Engaged
6. First Attach / Looks / Tell It Like It Is
7. Contemplations
8. Borg Take Picard / Death Is Irrelevant / His Place
9. Away Team Ready / On The Borg Ship / Nodes
10. Captain Borg
11. Energy Weapon Fails
12. Repairs / Humanity Taken
13. Contact Lost
14. Repairs Complete / Cemetery Of Dead Ships
15. Currents
16. Intervention
17. Sitting Ducks / Borg Reach Saturn
18. The Link
19. Sleep Command / Destruct Mode / Picard Is Back
20. Picard’s Nightmare
21. Star Trek: The Next Generation End Title (3rd Season, long version)

Total Disc Time:

UPDATED: GNP/Crescendo have just sent over high-resolution artwork for the new release:

TrekCore will be profiling the release in greater detail over the coming days and we’ll have an exclusive interview with album co-producer Lukas Kendall (now online here) who has been one of the main driving forces in pushing for Ron Jones’ entire canon of work to be made available.

You can head on over to GNP Crescendo’s website to secure your order for $19.95 here.

  • archer9234

    LAME. I recently bought the ’91 and Jone’s set. Wasted my money on the ’91 CD.

    • trekcore

      They’ve been battling with licenses and contracts for ages on this music. Our interview with Lukas Kendall sheds some light on it, but I agree – it’s unfortunate it’s taken so long!

      • archer9234

        Either way, I’m not getting this. Already blew 20$ on the original CD. Really mad cause the old CD had horrible hissing problems.

        • Mike

          Really? 22 years of enjoyment counts as a waste? It’s a shame it wasn’t released as a complete version back then, but that hardly counts as a waste.

          • ScottDS

            To be fair, there are reasons why all these cool releases are happening now and not 20 or 30 years ago. (Legal issues involving the AFM, re-use fees, etc.)

          • archer9234

            I said I just bought the ’91 CD literately 5 months ago. I wasted 22$ on that.

        • trekcore

          I should also point out (as you’ll read in our upcoming interview) that this version has been remastered, so audio quality should be better.

          • archer9234

            That’s why I’m mad :P. The hissing is now fixed. But I’m stuck with the hissing CD.

          • There’s always Ebay or Amazon to sell it used.

  • Freddy

    Just ordered it in Germany…..can’t wait to hear that terrific score remastered and complete! 🙂

  • Pretty sure the biggest reason they’re releasing these old soundtracks now is because of the remastering of the show. It’s cheaper to go back into the archives and pull this stuff out. They’re killing two birds with one stone: remastered music for TNG-R AND then remastered CD… The DS9 set coming out soon should be considered a sign they’re going to remaster DS9…

  • Yotsuyasan

    Man, every time I get an e-mail from Screen Archives Entertainment, I open it hoping for news of an expanded Insurrection soundtrack. (Not sure if I’d want an expanded Nemesis soundtrack… I’m torn between the fact that it’s one of Jerry Goldsmith’s final scores, and not wanting to acknowledge that movie’s existence…) So I get one of those e-mails, open it up, look to see if there is any new Trek stuff… and I see a new expanded score! But… for The Best of Both Worlds?

    I am somewhat annoyed by this myself, as I, too (on a recent Star Trek soundtrack binge) recently purchased the original version… Well, REPURCHASED, actually, as I had previously bought it when it was first released, but had since misplaced it… If only I had waited. I would be keen on the better sound quality… but I’m not too keen on having to purchase this again, right now.

    It might be different if there was some unreleased music on it, but that seems somewhat ambiguous. Yes, it will have new stuff for people who didn’t have the Ron Jones box set. But… well, I have that! (I did mention a soundtrack binge, yes?) And based on comparing the running times of this new release with the running times of the original release combined with the added music from the Ron Jones set… well, they look almost identical. So unless someone comes along and can definitively say different, it looks like there is no new music here.

    Anyone able to say different? Otherwise, I fear I shall stick with what I have.

    • trekcore

      There is indeed a small amount of new music not found on the 1991 release or the Ron Jones set. But please wait until tomorrow when our interview with producer Lukas Kendall goes up – he explains things far better.

      • Yotsuyasan

        Ah, well, I look forward to that interview. I’m guessing it must be in part 2? There was a roughly half minute difference in the running times of part 2, but I chocked it up to this new release’s track list saying it had the long version of the ending theme, and I couldn’t recall off hand which version I had with the ripped copy of the music on my hard drive. (Be too easy to do something silly like compare the running times of those two tracks, I suppose.)

        Still not sure how I feel about $20 for admittedly better sound quality and only about half a minute of new music. Certainly a better deal for those who don’t have the Ron Jones set… But I will check out this interview, and hope there is something in it to wow me and change my mind on this release.

  • The Squire of Gothos

    Great news! Hope GNP will be doing expanded releases of Insurrection and Nemesis soon!