Hot on the heels of La-La Land’s announcement of their upcoming Star Trek: The Next Generation soundtrack, Mondo has also revealed a brand new¬†Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan release for the franchise’s fiftieth anniversary.


Teased on Twitter last week this new two-part, retro vinyl release is coming with stunning pop art throughout the entire set, including a Genesis Cave-themed insert card.

Here’s Mondo’s press release:

2016 marks the 50th Anniversary of Gene Roddenberry’s inimitable Star Trek franchise and Mondo is honored to kick the year off with an expanded soundtrack release of arguably one of the greatest chapters in Trek history: The Wrath Of Khan.

Composed by the late great James Horner, The Wrath Of Khan is an essential motion picture soundtrack. As he would be asked to do for the Alien franchise a few years later, Horner was brought in to replace Jerry Goldsmith, who composed the previous entry Star Trek: The Motion Picture. Horner was able to produce one of the greatest Trek scores in the now 50-year-old franchise, while also catapulting himself from an unknown into one of the greatest American composers of our time.

This deluxe re-issue is pressed on 180 Gram 2XLP Mutara Nebula colored Vinyl, features original artwork by Matt Taylor, exclusive liner notes by Devin Faraci, and has been remastered for Vinyl by James Plotkin.




This remastered release of composer James Horner’s extended Wrath of Khan score includes twenty-three tracks across both LPs:

Side One:
01. Main Title (3:06)
02. Surprise on Ceti Alpha V (0:45)
03. Khan’s Pets (4:19)
04. The Eels of Ceti Alpha V / Kirk in Space Shuttle (3:53)
05. Enterprise Clears Moorings (3:33)
06. Chekov Lies (0:40)
07. Spock (1:12)
08. Kirk Takes Command / He Tasks Me (2:07)
09. Genesis Project (3:16)

Side Two:
10. Surprise Attack (5:07)
11. Kirk’s Explosive Reply (4:01)
12. Inside Regula I (1:35)
13. Brainwashed (1:24)
14. Captain Terrell’s Death (1:58)
15. Buried Alive (0:57)
16. The Genesis Cave (1:09)

Side Three:
17. Battle In The Mutara Nebula (8:07)
18. Enterprise Attacks Reliant (1:29)
19. Genesis Countdown (6:34)
20. Spock (Dies) (1:53)
21. Amazing Grace (1:26)

Side Four:
22. Epilogue / End Title (8:41)
23. Epilogue (Original Version) / End Title (7:29)


This beautiful vinyl release will be available for order through Mondo on January 13, and is likely to be a fairly limited release, so be sure to jump on this next Wednesday!